Student honorees reflect on their time in the School of Public Health

Each year, the West Virginia University School of Public Health honors its top students during a Graduate Awards Luncheon and Delta Omega Induction Ceremony. This year, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the presentation of awards took on a different look. Although the students, faculty and staff could not gather in person to celebrate, their achievements have not been overlooked. Instead of joining in a round of applause as their names are called and enjoying Flying WV cookies as attendees offer words of congratulations, this year, all friends and family are able to hear from each of the honorees in a ceremony video as they reflect on their time in the School of Public Health and look to the future.

The following students were recognized with academic awards:

  • Brittany Smith, Outstanding Bachelor of Science in Public Health Student Award
  • Shree Sriram, Junior Public Health Investigator Award
  • Raihan Khan, Promising Public Health Investigator Award
  • Melissa Head, Ruth E. Kershner Community Service Award
  • Hannah Maier, Junior Public Health Practitioner Award
  • Maya Nye, Promising Public Health Practitioner Award
  • Brynna Manibusan, Biostatistics Departmental Award
  • Stacy Tressler, Epidemiology Departmental Award
  • Marvina Jones, Health Policy, Management & Leadership Departmental Award
  • Cletus Oppong, Occupational & Environmental Health Sciences Departmental Award
  • Hannah Layman, Social & Behavioral Sciences Departmental Award

In addition to recognizing academic award recipients virtually, a new group of members has been inducted into the Gamma Mu Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society. Inductees include:

  • Mohini Chatterji
  • Marvina Jones
  • Hannah Layman
  • Raihan Khan
  • Ranjia Misra, Ph.D., Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences Professor, honorary inductee

Please enjoy these words of congratulations from Director of Career Services & Student Success Scot McIntosh and the reflections of our honorees in the ceremony video below.




CONTACT: Nikky Luna, Director of Marketing and Communications
School of Public Health